Please help

Adeel Mohsin

hi friends .. i wana ask that i am in final year of Electrical engineering ... i am taking the project related to PLC. i am controlling flow, level, temperature and pressure by using PLC.
but mu teacher is telling that Plc are now going to be obselete. they advise to me to do project on DCS(distributed contol system)
but my interest is in PLCs and i know very much about that please help me that whether i switch my mind from PLC to another project or do i still stick on it ... well also let me know that which latest projects are know gonna be control thru PLC

i shall be very thankful to you ... plz reply he quickly i wanna submit my project in 2 days......plz

Hello Adheel Mohsin;

When programmable controllers started to be used in industry, PLCs were more often dedicated to industrial automation applications (conveyors, bottlers, packers...) and DCS were more often deployed in process automation applications (refineries, pipelines...).
Basically, PLCs were seen as better at handling great numbers of digital I/Os, from a central controller, whereas the DCS was deemed better at establishing links between distributed, autonomous loop controllers, exchanging data over proprietary communication networks.
Today, the distinction between the 2 is blurring. Newer DCS (Emerson's DeltaV, for example) are now capable of handling rapid digital I/Os, and PLCs are now distributed in DCS format to handle large industrial plant (n Siemens' PCS7 configuration, for example). The power and programming of the chips that constitute the brains of both the PLCs and the DCS systems have increased in power and magnitute (as for desktop computers) recently, and now both are capable of handling much more information, at greater speeds, than ever before.