i need a laptop

babybylar

is there anyone who has a laptop they don,t need
my company is too cheap to buy me a laptop
they said they'll let me program if i can provide my own laptop :D

http://www.ebay.com offers some decent laptops at affordable prices.
BUT
My suggestion to you is get them to give you a desktop (any Pentium class) and put it on a rolling cart. Use it for the programming/troubleshooting needs. Alot of us didnt have the advantage (in some cases disadvantage) of having a laptop when learning this stuff. Take what you can get, usually they have some older PC's laying around that will work well with PLC programming software.

IF you develop skills with computers/plc's, the mechanics, and troubleshooting then you will not have a problem obtaining what you want.

Yep!! I would go with the "Rolling Cart". I have been dragging one around since 1995... That was until last year. I bought a Toshiba Sattelite Pro P100 mhz for $100.00 at ebay. it is a junker but I can still load Mitsubishi, AB Rslogix, Pico software and more....
So do not waste your money on a "High End" laptop when any Pentium Class rig will do. Just do your homework.
Scooter

You don't need anything new and fancy to run most of the PLC software. As rsdoran suggests look around your work area for an old discarded PC. typically something capable of Windows 95 is all you need.

I see several laptops on eBay going for $50. Heck buy it yourself. It's an investment in you after all. Here is an example:

eBay auction for IBM notebook

DISCLAIMER: This is not my auction. Nor is this seller in any way known by me or related to me. Just an auction I happened to have been following out of curiousity.

There have to be hundreds more just like this on eBay. Snoop around a bit and I'm sure you can come up with a good buy.

Good Luck

OG