Visual Display to PLC

Kreutzer72

Im using a Mitsubishi PLC FX2N-16MR. I have a Beijer Electronics Display MTA-12. Im pretty new to programming. So bear with me. Im trying to get the MTA to talk to the PLC. The little booklet that came with the MTA has 6 pages in english. Ive went on line and cant find any other PDF files to help me. There is a new display in the family E-50. I looked at that and its not much help either. I can programme an analog function on the MTA and give it a Data Register on the PLC. Yet the PLC does not see the the MTA's analog #. Basically Im trying to input a number on the MTA. Then I want the PLC to recognize it and use it in a counter. Again new to this so be easy on me :D Thank you for your time.

Joshua

does it make sense?

Just was wondering if what I wrote before made sense. I see a few people looking at it. Yet no one is saying anything. Do I need more info? Thank you for your time.

Joshua

Do you know if the HMI and the PLC are communicating at all? Use the Mitsubishi's programming software to load a non-zero value into a data register and set up your Beijer unit to display that value on a page. If you see a zero displayed or get a 'no coomunications' message, then you know that the comm port settings on the PLC and the HMI don't match or you're not using the correct cable to connect them or you're not using the correct protocol.

I don't know any of the details for either of those units, but the things I mentioned need to be correct before you get any data passed between the HMI and the PLC.

In general, when a HMI panel is connected to a PLC via a serial port cable, the HMI is the communications master. That means that for whatever data is required to refresh the screen display, the HMI sends a command to the PLC to request the PLC transmit that information. The PLC does not initiate any communications; it only responds to commands from the HMI.

Could the PLC be password protected and the HMI not have the correct password?