OT We don't need no steenking wire numbers

Doug_Adam

I will try not to rant, and I genuinely want to understand this.

Why do all machines sourced from continental Europe not have wire numbers for the wires in the panel?
Whenever we order something, we have to specifically specify that each wire is to be numbered. This always result in a huge amount of grumbling, arguments, extra costs, and it always turns out wrong.

Without wire numbers, how do you efficiently commission and trouble shoot your system?

Machines sourced locally (Australia), from near by countries, US or Britain all seem to just number all their wires.

So why not Europe?

How do you actually get your machines to run?

What's the secret?

Well... to begin with, we do label the wires on our machines. And this is probably the most time-consuming part of any wiring job - which is not a surprise.

I don't know what kind of answer would our European colleagues come up with, but I have some experience maintaining some German machines - there are no wire numbers, as you stated. However, there is always an exact match between the scematics and the actual wiring regarding on which point of which terminal of which device each wire starts and where exactly it is going to - once again, down to the particular terminal on a particular device. If a drawing says that this wire starts at terminal block X11, terminal 12, point 3 - you can be certain it starts there and only there, even if there are 20 more terminals in X11, all bridged together. For +DC bus, for example. With our traditional wire labeling system, each and every wire starting at that terminal block would have the same number (since it is the same potential point). Not so in Europe.

What also helps is widespread usage of CE-style cables with numbered, instead of color-coded, wires. Each cable is labeled and then the wires are connected in exact compliance with the schematics.