Help with the IFIX project.

atifplus

Hello,
I am a student on my coop term. Right now working for a company who is using IFIX and TI 545 PLC. I have worked with PLC before (TRISTATION) and have a bit of knowledge about OPC and honeywell experion.

I am just trying to setup another PLC system with HMI.
I will be using 505 workshop to create logic and IFIX for graphics..

They have a ethernet connection setup for communication. I am just trying to figure out how the PLC tags are communicating with the IFIX. I dont see any 3rd party program like OPC server or anything. IS there some sort of 3rd party software.. ? hwo could i figure out..? the datalink in ifix showin some sort of like SCADA1.blabla.F_CV. The software (tristation) i used has an option of setting the tags to alaise and those can be read by OPC.. Any website or tutorial would be helpful

suggestion for where should i start..

was thinking of building a small ladder logic on PLC first then step into HMI i guess..

any help would be appriciated.. I really wanna get this thing started so i could build something useful for company. I wont get any chance soon to get hands on those hardwares :p

Thanks

PLZ reply

I'm not familiar with the TI range of PLCs so I cant assist you regarding what I/O driver, OPC server to use. However any questions you need answered RE: iFix fell free to contact me

Thanks Gil. I think the system is using IFIX SCADA SYSTEM.. found it on the link u gave me. I am gona go at work and study those materials might be able to get some more info. :)

Thanks Francie as soon as i will come to the Graphics parts I will contact u if i got any problem :) so far my biggest concern is communicating the PLC tags to HMI :)

Thanks guys for reply. Can't wait to make this thing work :)