New to PLC's

gilldawg79

I just started a job at a paper mill in maintenance as a E&I electrician. I worked as an electrician for a university for about 5 years and then got transferred to an office in the IT department. There I spent the next 6 years as a "Network Engineer" and then moved on to be an Network Administrator for the last 14 months...Now, I was ready for a change....Sick of the office and wanted to get back to what I liked doing....I believe I was lucky enough to get hired due to my computer background. I do have an Associates Degree in Industial Maintenance, so that helped, but it has been ten years since I have seen PLC's....I am rusty and went through a training course today at work and I think I may have made some headway, but I think I need something to solidify my skills....I know that nothing will be better than hands on, but a book may do me wonders....

On site we have Automate 15, 20, 40
DCS---I don't know much about it
ControlLogix--- I believe this is the newest stuff out there.

Will this book published by this site help me?

Thanks!!

Jimmy

gilldawg79 said:
I just started a job at a paper mill in maintenance as a E&I electrician. I worked as an electrician for a university for about 5 years and then got transferred to an office in the IT department. There I spent the next 6 years as a "Network Engineer" and then moved on to be an Network Administrator for the last 14 months...Now, I was ready for a change....Sick of the office and wanted to get back to what I liked doing....I believe I was lucky enough to get hired due to my computer background. I do have an Associates Degree in Industial Maintenance, so that helped, but it has been ten years since I have seen PLC's....I am rusty and went through a training course today at work and I think I may have made some headway, but I think I need something to solidify my skills....I know that nothing will be better than hands on, but a book may do me wonders....