Machinist wanting to switch careers any advice?

hd28vsb

Here is a little background before I ask my question.
I am an aircraft machinist by trade and have been for close to ten years. The job pays in the mid 60's and is above average pay for my area. Machining is all I know and all I have ever done. I feel as if I have all of my eggs in one basket and I need to broaden my knowledge to open up other job prospects.

What would it take to get my foot in the door so to say with an entry level PLC job? I have zero knowledge in this field.
Is a degree a must? How much would the PLC videos and book sold on this site help me get started in understanding PLC's?

Any and all advice is appreciated

you covered a lot of good information in your post ... but here are some additional questions for you ...

have you decided that you don't like machining? ... what do you know about PLC work that makes you think that you'd like it better? ... have you checked into a local tech school (etc.) to see if they have any programs available? ... have you talked to any local employers to see what types of PLC brand and platforms they use? ... are you hoping to make MORE money with PLCs - or just interested in a change? ...

and to answer some of your questions ...

What would it take to get my foot in the door so to say with an entry level PLC job?

that depends ... programming job? - or plant maintenance tech job? - etc.

I have zero knowledge in this field.

not a problem ... NONE of us did - the day before we got started ...

Is a degree a must?

no ...

How much would the PLC videos and book sold on this site help me get started in understanding PLC's?

all knowledge is useful ... MANY people have been helped by Phil's material ...

and welcome to the forum ...

Last edited: