Routine for determining direction of rotation.

mathewsg

I am new to PLC programming and hope that someone in these forums may be able to assist.

I am mainly using AB PICO controllers and have a need for a simple routine that only perform an output when two inputs occur in a certain order.

I am using two inputs but input 1 must happen before input 2 for the output to occur.

This routine is needed to determine which direction a wheel is rotating i.e. if input 1 closes before input 2 then direction of rotation is forward. If input 2 closes before input 1 then directionof rotation is reversed.

A suggested program routine would be appreciated.

Can you describe the setup a little more carefully?

Does the wheel turn more than once?
Do the inputs overlap? That is - while input 1 is on can input 2 come on?
If the wheel were to turn at a constant rate what would you expect to see at the 2 inputs?

These answers will help in the suggestions.

Bernie,

Thanks for your reply.

The wheel is constantly turning.

Image 50 spokes on the wheel. The sensors that trigger inputs 1 & 2 are appproximatly 75mm (3") apart.

As the wheel is rotating forward each spoke passes the pair of sensors (inputs 1 & 2). The spoke triggers an output because input 1 was triggered before input 2.

When the wheel is reversed each spoke would trigger sensor 2 before sensor 1.

I hope this helps clarify my enquiry.

If the signals conform the the following diagram, then your logic must use the rising/falling edges to determine the direction. Assume forwards is left to right and reverse is right to left on the diagram, then the direction can be established as follows:

Rising Edge of A, If B=0 direction=fwds else direction=rev
Falling edge of A, If B=0 direction=rev else direction=fwds
Rising Edge of B, If A=0 direction=rev else direction=fwds
Falling edge of B, If A=0 direction=fwds else direction=rev

view7.JPG

I'm not familiar with the pico so I can't offer the code.