Siemens S7-300 function call problem

Gunner

Hi all,
Please bear with me on this one as I try to explain my problem.

I am only a beginner with Siemens so please be gentle.

This morning we had a problem with none of our analogue inputs being processed.

I traced the problem to OB1 where the inputs are called, the problem being that the FC for the analogue inputs was anded with the FC for the Digital inputs. The ENO for digital inputs FC was not 1 therefor the analogue inputs FC was not being processed.

To get the system back up and running I created a new network and called the analogue inputs FC and all was well.

What would be a possible cause of this as there seems to be no other problems with the system.

hope you can shed some light on this.

regards

Hello gunner;

Please clarify your description of the problem. Do you eman to say OB1 programm changed by itself, that existing networks disapeared without programmer's intervention?
What CPu are you using (what part no., if you are not sure of details), does it have a (required) MMC slotted in? Or is it a battery-supported memory?
Of course a block will not be processed if it is not called in sn OB or an FC/FB. It actually shows that as an error message in the LAD/FBD/STL editor when you try to monitor the block "Block is not called".
Can you give us a screenshot of the problem networks?
Hope this helps,
Daniel Chartier

Gunner - the ENO output (called the block result) from a block can be true or false depending on the logic within the block. If you have block calls cascading after each other, then if any of the block results are false, the following blocks will not be called. This can be done by design whereby you don't want to process certain blocks if the previous block result is false, or by accident in which case you may get unpreditable results.

Please have a look at this related thread:-

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=30744&highlight=block+result