Amps Monitoring on Logix 5000

artur

Hello, i am new in Programming and need some help from the Experts here.

I have to Implement an logging for my amps for my rectifier by hour, days and weeks and monts.

I get a amp meter on my recifier who gives me a 10 v output at 14000 amps.

The settings from the amps change during the day and i want to see how many current i use during the day, week , month .

i have to add the current from two rectifiers.

I dont know how to store the readings from hour, week and month .

Thanks or any help, Artur

Give me your email address and I'll send the code to handle it. What hardware are you using?Send me details of your Hardware, Firmware revs etc..

With rslogix 5000 you can scale your 0-10 VDC to be shown as your 0-14000 amps then you can use a timer or better use a GSV instruction to get your local time and use it to trigger a fifo to load you current value.
You can also send amps info to a text file if you want it.

good luck

This really does not seem like a PLC job. You need some type of HMI or similar product to datalog this in SQL or a standard database. The only thing the PLC should do is add the analog values of your 2 rectifiers together and store it to a register. Then datalog that.

If the data is already being "seen" by the PLC then setting up a datalog should be straight forward.

I can think of several AB/Rockwell products that could do this if I was trying to do it. You don't mention how you are displaying or accessing this data. That is important. If you are going to have to store all your data in the PLC then you are really limited on what you can do. If you don't use some sort of database and trending software this is just going to be a bunch of gobbldygook numbers all in a row. I would not think it would be of that much use without a trend? Especially if you are talking about months worth of data. You also don't mention your sampling rate. That is a pretty important detail.