RS-232 Communication on the SLC-500 Help needed

Jim Woodall

Hi, I just joined the forum, to hopefully help point me in the right direction regarding a project I'm working on.

I'm a Windows application developer/database administrator for a manufacturing company. I set up a manuafcturing database for various process parameters.

Currently, these parameters are entered by hand. However, I've been working with maintenance & they tell me we have a Allen Bradley SLC-500 with an RS 232 port for serial communication.

I would like to write a small Visual Basic application to poll the SLC-500 to retrieve the data automatically & store it in our database. I only need a "read only" situation; I will not be attempting to write data back to the controller.

Is this a fairly simple task? Are there any dangers asscociated with doing something like this? Any resources that anyone can point me to? I know next to nothing about PLCs.

Any help anyone might provide would be most appreciated.

Thanks,

Jim

No, it isn't simple, and yes, it can be dangerous.

I suggest you get your controls engineering consultant or in-house PLC jock involved. The best way is to use an Allen Bradley program to use DDE or OPC links into your program. Allen Bradley tends to be very protective of their communications protocols.

What you are looking for is the DF1 protocol.
It is simple for me to implement DF1 in 'C'. It takes about 4 hours to read and write registers. Less is you skimp on flexibilty. I can't anything about how easy you will find implementing DF1 in Visual Basic.

If you only read then you can't hurt anything in the PLC.

To reiterate what Steve said, check with the controls people before you go about implementing this.

Yes, there is a serial port on the SLC, which can be used to read the PLC.