No clue

justme1954

I am new at this. Is it worth my time to learn PLCs? Meaning jobs and money. I understand it will take time and effort to learn, but will it pay off in the long run? Thanks for any input.

justme1954 said:
I am new at this. Is it worth my time to learn PLCs? Meaning jobs and money. I understand it will take time and effort to learn, but will it pay off in the long run? Thanks for any input.

I presume your are working , looking for work or studying in a technical direction .Automation machines and/or processes will always involve some kind of PLC or PC .Every thing , these days, have some kind of 'controller ' or chip to make it intelligent.If you want to get the maximum out of your device , machine ,process or factory you need to know something about PLC's AND all the related stuff like networks , scada , field device parameters etc

Eric

I am new at this. Is it worth my time to learn XXXXXXX? Meaning jobs and money. I understand it will take time and effort to learn, but will it pay off in the long run? Thanks for any input.
For XXXXXXX substitute -

PLCs
Brain surgery
Law
Toilet cleaning
Prostitution
Politics (oops, sorry, already listed that one!)
Dress designing
Farming
etc
etc

That's what any job's about.
Take the one that interests you and provides satisfaction. Believe me it is worth more than money.

Ken

Greetings justme1954 ...

and welcome to the forum ...

to give you a good answer, we need to know some more about you ...

first of all, what other job skills do you already have? ... the reason I ask: a PLC is only one part of a "system" ... yes, it's an important part - but it's still only one part ...

so let’s say (just for discussion) that you could somehow manage to learn EVERYthing about PLCs ... now how would you take that knowledge “to market” when it’s time to find a job? ...