Ethernet Communications

dbowyer

Hello,

I am new to the Allen Bradley world. I have a logix 5555 connected via Ethernet to a PV plus 1000. What is the protocol for connecting a pc to upload the program and what hardware is required? Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

dbowyer said:
Hello,

I am new to the Allen Bradley world. I have a logix 5555 connected via Ethernet to a PV plus 1000. What is the protocol for connecting a pc to upload the program and what hardware is required? Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Which program? The PLC program, PV 1000 program or both?

For the PLC, you're going to need RSLogix 5000 software with the appropriate firmware version installed. You'll use RSLinx to communicate between the RSLogix 5000 and the ControlLogix.

For the PanelView Plus, you're going to need RSView Studio. It will have RSLinx Enterprise along with it to communicate with the PanelView.

What hardware? It's just plain, ol' ethernet...

Last edited:
Well before you can do anything, you'll need to configure drivers in RSlinx to establish the network nodes you wish to connect too. There are different ways to connect, but given you're using ethernet you'll need the IP address of the plc and the HMI, and you'll need an IP address for the pc you wish to use. Once you have that information, add your ethernet drivers in RSlinx, and configure your computer's IP address accordingly. Once you've done that you should be able to see your network nodes in RSlinx if everything is connected correctly.

After that, you'll need to use the RSlogix5000 or your panelbuilder program to download/upload the program you want.

I really appreciate your assistance. Can you all give me some guidance as far as where I can locate all these IP addresses?

Doug

There are a couple of options.