Software portability - IEC61131-3

pascal01

Hello to all!

I am a student of electrotechnics and automation. I have nearly reached the goal and have to do my diploma-thesis.

I have to watch out different PLC-Platforms and to check the portability of source-code between them.

The main tasks are to create some Function-Blocks (FB) in structured text (ST) and to check the possibility of their portability to an other (manufacturer independend) platforms.

Is here somebody who can help me how to find a good way to do that. Does anybody know the format *.fxf (standardised by www.plcopen.org) to exchange source-codes between platforms.

Thanks for any help

Hmmm... I have never actually tried to port one iec to another but I think you might have to do some work, it will depend on how the original program was written, I can see many problems with addressing, instructions etc.

I truly doubt you're gonna get something that portable... there are too many proprietary differences between brands.

The standard (IEC61131) only tells them that they have to do certain things, not HOW to do them.

pascal01 - I've ported code to/from Siemens SCL to Beckhoff structured text. It was a while ago now but the only editing required was the end of line character or something like that. I used copy/paste of text between the two editors. I also recall that Siemens STL will not easily port to instruction list.

The software they talk about on plcopen.org is something I've never actually seen in industry. For an organization that's been around 15 years, they haven't made much of a dent in this area. Everyone I know uses the manufacturer's proprietary software to program their PLCs. For ladder there is pretty much zero portability between brands. For STL, I would expect the cut-and-paste style of portability would work much better.

yes, I already remarked, that the work PLCopen has done until now is not too much. :-(