Constant to binary bit (TI-505)

jhuggart

I am using a TI-505 to communicate over profibus with a Delta Motion Controller. I am new to PLC's and this is the first time that I have used profibus. My question is:

How do you send a constant to a single binary bit?

To initiate commands in the motion controller, the PLC must send a digit that refers to a specific command. I know how to turn bits on and off, that's easy. But I cannot figure out how to send, for example, '7' to bit wy43.3.

Any help is appreciated.

edit: By the way, I am using TISOFT6.0 to do the programming.

Last edited:
You can send a 7 to WY43 since it is a word. WY43.3 is a bit, and bits can only be a 1 or 0. I believe you are misunderstanding what the manual is saying needs to be done. A word (WY43) is made up of 16 Bits (WY43.1 thru WY43.16). When the value of WY43 is changed the state (0 or 1) of the bits WY43.1 thru WY43.16 will change. Likewise, if you change the state of the bits the value in the word will change.

Maybe my confusion is in the translation. The manual uses AB DF1 protocol for the example. There is a command that is called Move Absolute(20) that is used as the example in the user manual. There are some parameters for that command that go into the bits following the command bit. The instructions say:

Write 20 to F25:10
Write 5.2 to F25:11
Write 14 to F25:12
...and so on.

Is:

Write 20 to wy25.11
Write 5.2 to wy25.12
write 14 to wy 25.13

an incorrect interpretation of the instructions? If so, what is the correct interpretation?

Write 20 to F25:10
Write 5.2 to F25:11
Write 14 to F25:12
...and so on.

Is:

Write 20 to wy25.11
Write 5.2 to wy25.12
write 14 to wy 25.13

I don't think so. In AB F25:XX are individual words that can take floating point words. In TI WY25 is a single word typically integer.
I think what they want you to do is send a number that represents a bit pattern in binary.
If we are to count right to left for 8 bits:
00000001=1 WY25.01 on