Accessing UDTs from WinCC

Sinan Hiasat

Hi all,
I am new to Siemens, and it seems like it is not possible to access a Step7 v5.4 UDT instance data from WinCC6.0;
Is this true, and if YES, what can I do to go around this?!
(my application is big; i can't go with non-structured programming)
Many Thanks.
Sinan!

Not sure about WinCC

I do know Protool and WinCC Flexible though.
And with those you can symbolically access the DB variables that are defined by means of UDTs.

Hello again,
I found this FAQ (Entry ID:14054155) on the Siemens website:
"
Why can't you transfer the elements of an S7 structure or UDT to WinCC through OS compilation?

Description:
In a data block you have assigned the system attribute "S7_m_c" to variables so that they can be operated and monitored in WinCC after OS compilation. This works with simple variables in the data block, but arrays, structures and UDTs are not transferred to the WinCC data management. As from STEP 7 V5.2 and PCS 7 V6.0 it is no longer possible to assign the system attribute "S7_m_c" for elements of structures, arrays and UDTs.

Explanation:
In data blocks the "OS Compile" function doesn't support any structured data types like ARRAY, STRUCT or UDTs (user-defined data types). WinCC doesn't support any declaration of structures within a structure. A data block is already created in WinCC as a structure - so no more structures can be defined within the data block.
This also applies for the definition of structures in function blocks.

"