Help me buy the right FLUKE METER :)

atifplus

Alright I am looking to get one for my company.

Requirements
Cat III max 1000V
Got to measure True RMS, Frequency (200 Khz max), AC,DC voltage and Current. That is all i could think of we have some thermocouple and would be great if we could measure the temp. and stuff.

I found those Fluke 179 and Fluke 87V looks alright ..

Just looking for some suggestion maybe someone could guide me I dont wanna get some really high tech expensive item nor i wanna get something useless meter either. something portable that will help measuring those parameters we need in a plant. We dont do any hardcore troubleshooting. as of yet

I have been using an 87 for roughly 20+ years, the newer ones are even better. I might consider a 179 or 187/189 if I had to buy a new one.

any good vendor in vancouver area ?

I got these prices :)

Model 87V $527. each
Model 179 $407. each
Model 187 $719. each
Model 189 $742. each

That is slightly higher then in the US but could be due to tariffs/duty.

These are the fluke distributors.
Active Tech Electronics
3695 East 1st Avenue
Vancouver BC, V5M 1C2
PH: (604) 654-1057
Carrier Canada Ltd
155 West 3rd Avenue
Vancouver BC, V5Y 1E8
PH: (604) 876-9278
Refrigerative Supply
132 West 2 Ave
Vancouver BC, V5Y 1C2
PH: (604) 872-7521
Westburne Supply (BC)
68 East 7th Avenue
Vancouver BC, V5T 1M4
PH: (604) 873-8541

Make sure its one you can handle to be stolen. You would not believe how may times we have had meters, label printers, tools stolen from job sites.
Don't know if its a coincidence or not, but every plant we have had stuff stolen, a maintenance was part of a union.

Hmm, I've never had a meter stolen from me. Though, I'm an in-house electrical engineer, so I know and work with the people around me all the time.

As for the union thing, my shop is non-union, and I hear nothing but horror stories about unions, so it wouldn't suprise me if it wasn't coincidence :)