Allen Bradley 5/40E Serial Connection

alias

Hi,

I intend to connect an Allen Bradley 5/40E controller to a PC serially. The planned wiring is a 100 ft cable to connect to the PLC's DB-25 connector on one end and a PCI card (with 2 serial DB-9 ports) on the PC as the other end.

I hope I can use the RS-422A protocol to accomplish this (considering the length) and use Kepware KepServerEX as the OPC server to acquire data from the PLC.

I'm fairly new at this and was confused as to why the PLC manual mentions the 1770-KF2 module in the connection as an adapter.

Shouldn't the above serial wiring work independent of the adapter?

I will appreciate an early reply on this.

Thanks!

Last edited:
According to the PLC-5 selection guide:
PLC-5/40E catalog number: 1785-L40E
User Words Max: 48,000
I/O Max: 2048
Communication ports: 1 Ethernet, 2 DH+ or
Remote I/O (Adapter or Scan )

As you can see there isn't a serial port, the DB25 connection is an ethernet port.That's why the KF-2 was referenced, it allows a pc to connect to a DH+ network serially.
Why not use ethernet? much faster, and you will not need any special adapters at the PC, and 100 feet is well within the range limitations of standard Cat-5 ethernet wiring.

Then use RsLinx OEM instead of the Keepware for your OPC server.

Last edited:
My reference was the Enhanced and Ethernet PLC-5 Programmable Controllers User Manual pg 25. Next to the Channel-0 port it says:

"25-pin D-shell serial port; supports standard EIA RS-232C and RS-423 and is RS-422A compatible. Use this port with ASCII or DF1 full-duplex, half-duplex master, and half-duplex slave protocols. The port's default configuration supports controller programming using DF1 point-to-point, 2400 bps, no parity, one stop-bit, BCC error check, no handshaking"

Channels 1A and 1B are the DH+ ports.
Channel 2 is the 15-pin Ethernet port.

Shouldn't it work with the 25-pin serial if I were to use RS-232 using a 50-ft cable converted to DB-9?