RSView SE Distributed Display

dawn

Hello all,

I have been using RSView Studio for a month now. I have used a lot of information from this site to assist in making the displays, thanks guys! I have read most of the forum topics on RSView and have not seen my issue addressed previously.

I need to make a display for my project that takes a heartbeat of all the plcs. This project runs a large assembly line and if the users are experiencing issues they need to click on the heartbeat screen to see if any plcs are not running/available.

If I were creating a software application I would send a ping command to check the status of an IP. How should I do this in RSView? As an IT admin I feel more comfortable using vba code than tags but an willing to give it a go.

With proper regards.

(BTW, is there a RSS feed for this site? I have been unsuccesful in my attempts to locate it)

Well, RSView SE or ME?

In the simple case, it doesn't matter. Any tag pointing to a non-available item will go to an error state... wireframed, question marks, or such.

If you are using RSLinx Enterprise for communications to Logix controllers, you can look at some of the information in the RSView libraries; there is a status display specifically for Logix Processors.

Otherwise, to monitor View -> PLC comms, I just use a timer in each PLC to send a heart-beat clock to View, and an event in View to invert it and send it back to the PLC as another tag. The return bit oneshots a reset on the timer. If the timer times out, comms has failed.

Last edited:
There is a Pre-Defined Item in RSLinx Entprise for each controller Shortcut that is named "@IsPresent".

For Logix controllers, this indicates (1=present, 0=absent) a good link through any CIP network (ControlNet, Ethernet, serial, etc) to the controller.

There are some other Pre-Defined Items that tell you the processor mode.