D100CRA20 Questions from a Complete Newbie

solfan

Hi Everyone.

I was called in as a computer tech to help one of my clients fix a "computer" that is attached to a metal bending machine.

I found this is more complicated than I suspected. It has some application on the ANCIENT computer attached to a D100CRA20 PLC and when he puts in the specs for his bends, they're way off.

I could be barking up the wrong tree, but I suspect there is programming needed on this PLC and I have no clue how that's done or where I should even start.

This could be a problem with the application on the old computer as well. I was successful at hooking up a slightly newer computer and booting the program on a floppy disk, but the problem still exists that I can't make the bender work properly.

Is there other PLC's that could be put on and perhaps newer software?

Anyone care to give a little guidance?

Thanks in advance. Any help is greatly appreciated.

-James Oliver

solfan said:
I found this is more complicated than I suspected. It has some application on the ANCIENT computer attached to a D100CRA20 PLC and when he puts in the specs for his bends, they're way off.

I could be barking up the wrong tree, but I suspect there is programming needed on this PLC and I have no clue how that's done or where I should even start.
If he's putting in specs for his bends and you've been called in to "fix" the thing then the inference is that this system has worked at some point in the past. Is that the case or has it never worked and you're trying to finish things off?

If it has worked in the past then I'd advise leaving PLC and software well alone, at least initially. There must either be some sensor telling the control system how far the bend has gone or an actuator which the PLC tells how far to go - or both. Look for actuators and sensors which may have moved from their correct position. If nothing has moved then check that switches switch on and off, analogue stuff is within spec, etc.