DL 05 Random Number Generator

Can anyone help me create a few ladder logic lines to randomly generate intergers btw 0-100. I have tryed loading the scan timer value, then ANDD, then LD into a memory local (this just seems to toggle btw 2 values). Honestly i am not a programmer; what i have tryed will not work. I understand "completely random" isnt possible and that is totally ok for my app. If you are unsure of the functions i have to work with (it is only the basics) you can download the trial software at www.automationdirect.com. Any help i will greatly thankful for....im an M.E. wish i was a programmer !!!

I don't know AD, but in the past i have used a free running timer to generate a random number.

Set up a timer to run repeatedly from 0-100 milliseconds if possible, or hundredths of a second.

When an input (start pushbutton for example) goes true, look at the value in the timer...

If you need to generate a random number every scan or multiple numbers at once, you may want to create an array of one hundred values, and fill it with random numbers dervied externally...then just increment a pointer (indirect address?) to the array when you need a different random number.

OkiePC said:
Set up a timer to run repeatedly from 0-100 milliseconds if possible, or hundredths of a second.

If you want to use Paul's suggestion... try this

and this would be Micheal's "when condition is true"

Just change C11 to your input or condition and V1200 will hold your number
random11.jpg

Dirtysouthdesign,

If you use geniusintraining's code be careful that C11 stays on for only one scan. Otherwise incrementing numbers will appear in v1200 and they will increment by the scan time.