Warnings and/or Advice Needed

vettedrivr

First some backround, I have been working for my company for 10 years. I do 99% of the PLC/HMI programming, all of our 50+ PLC's are Allen Bradley PLC 5, SLC 500's, and micrologix. All HMI's are Allen Bradley DTAM's and Panelviews. All of our maintenance people have at least some formal PLC training from Rockwell Automation. We have 5 production lines all operating under PLC control and have little or no problems with any of them. We maintain a Rockwell Automation support contract and always have the latest software versions. Starting next year we are going to be installing a new production line that will be computer based, logic for controlling the line will be written in C++, any HMI's applications will be written in Visual Basic. I have LIMITED experience with National Instruments and opto 22 interface hardware and labview software and from what I've seen try and stay as far away from them as possible. Nobody here is trained on C++ or Visual Basic and there are no plans to train anyone.
Now the question: Does anyone have any advice on what I might encounter, problems we may run into, or solutions to offer that may keep me from pulling my hair out till I'm bald? Anyone out there go through a transition like I've described?
Thanks in advance for any replies.

Well I can assure you Opto22 is about as similar to AB as Carrots are to elephants.

Opto runs on a flow chart type code and its pretty much an empty box when you get it, nothing comes 'canned'.
Also it doesnt support online editing.....

I would try and get a complete setup to mess with way up front and find the functional limitations of this new equipment.
Apart from that its just going to be a hard slog until your up to speed.