New to PLC

jig217

Hello All,

My name is Jiger and I'm new to this PLC. Currently I'm pursing my Electrical engineer degree and I'm working on my senior project on making a Robotic Hand Which can be control via computer or joystick. I was thinking making PLC for this and basically connect hardware to this. I have not program plc before this would be my first time. I know what plc is and I know little bit how to program it since I learn little bit from my current job.

My question is what do I really need for my project? What software should I use, what type of PLC should i buy?, what hardware do I need for PLC? Basically Joystick will act as an input, 5-6 motor as outputs, and few sensors to check position of the motor. Our budget is under $400. If anyone can help I will really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance,

Jiger

$400.00 won't get you very far in the INDUSTRIAL PLC market......Direct Logic makes a cheap one they advertize for $99.00..........but then you still need the programming application, a manual, and a cable; all at additional expense.

Maybe someone would have an old PLC they pulled out of something sitting on a shelf they would donate if you paid the freight or something......dunno....

I saw a "micro controller" KIT at Radio Shack. Seems like it was pretty cheap and since this is for a school project anyway, building the PLC would add to the learning experience.

From what I infer, most of the folks on THIS forum are professionals, trying to make a living, myself included. There doesn't seem to be much "hobby" activity on these pages.

I wish you luck,

Stationmaster

Hello Jiger,

Check ebay, but look for some form of communication, a bus, to control the motors, that should cut down on the cost of the I/O's the way you describe it you will need a lot of I/O