Career Advice

Zipperhead

So basicly here is my current situation.
I am working for a large Contract machining company and am fully responsible for all electrical/electronic repair. I have a Associate degree in Electronics Engineering and Technology, followed by 7 years on the job experience. I am looking to go from technician to engineer and I am looking for some guidance in what skills would be best to have.That pretty much comes down to Software and obviously electrical fundamentals. I guess what I am saying is what software experience would any engineering firm look for in hiring someone like myself. My electrical experience is extremely refined, I can work on anything from main lines to component level repair and do it with no help from anyone. I currently have pretty much every kind of PLC software at my disposle and CAD software.( Gotta love newsgroups!) I am new here, but have been reading all the posts for awhile now. So this is my introduction to everyone here.

AutoCAD is a good thing to have experience with (Specially if you want to be engineering the machines). It's a very clean software to write up schematics with.

As for the PLC software. That depends on who and where you will be working for. Having a good grasp of logic will help with all of them though.

From the way it sounds, you're pretty much set in terms of knowledge and software experience. What more advice are you looking for?

I have autocad electrical and autocad 2000-2007, is there any difference for schematics? Basicly if I learn Electrical would it be identical to the standard autocad? I also have automaiton studio has anyone used it for schematics? And if so how is it comparable? What about Excel, VB, C, C++, VB.net etc...

If you want an Engineering position then I suggest obtaining an Engineering Degree.

In the past there were many that obtained engineering positions because they became excellent in technology that was new, that technology now is not new but they are the experts.