I want this job

dawghogston

Hey guys, here is the situation. Im a lead operator at the facility
that I work at. I have more senority than any one else who works here. Manaement is creating a new job in a few months for a electrical/measurement/control tech. I want this job bad. My boss has skipped over me for 4 other jobs I've wanted. The only reasons I can gather is I didn't have enough experience or Im the best operator he's got. The company is going to shut this plant down and are in the process of building another (this is were the new job comes in).
It's a small plant and it will have only one plc. Our current maintenance crew is still in the stone ages. They dont even know what a plc or logic is. I have a diploma in electricity/electronics, certificate in electricity, diploma in electro-mechanical maintenance mechanics and I am a certified journeyman electrician, and a certified electrical repairman. I also have about 4 years electrical/maintenance experiance. I am trying to teach myself plc's. I have bought the plc trainer and logix pro from Koldwater. Its great and i'm learning alot. My question is what can I tell, get or show my boss, to prove i can do this new job. Oh yeah please dont count off for spelling on my whine session.

Your boss may not want to give you up (the curse of competence) or he may be ****ed off at you. It really doesn't matter. This guy has a track record of holding you back, so it's time to subtly go around him. If the plant is being shutdown anyway, what have you got to lose?

Go directly to personnel, ask for the job posting, and fill out an application. Try to run into your bosses boss at the water cooler, and ask him about what the job entails - casually mentioning your qualifications and let him know you would be available as soon as you train your replacement. oint out that you already have your own tools, better than the maintenance departments for that kind of work. (OK, but a little brown nosing doesn't hurt.)