MicroLogix 1500 question

tomfarvour

Member
Join Date
Aug 2007
Location
Green Bay
Posts
36
I have a quick programming question... I'm attempting to use a FFL instruction to load the current month, day, hour, and minute into respective integer stacks:

XIC B93:0/2
XIC B93:0/4
XIO B23:2/4 BST
FFL N97:3 #N247:0 R96:0 20 0 NXB
FFL L99:0 #L248:0 R96:3 20 0 NXB
FFL L99:1 #L249:0 R96:9 20 0 NXB
FFL S:38 #N254:0 R96:15 20 0 NXB
FFL S:39 #N253:0 R96:18 20 0 NXB
FFL S:40 #N252:0 R96:21 20 0 NXB
FFL S:41 #N251:0 R96:24 20 0 BND

However, I get an error
Rung 11 Ins: 11: ERROR: Invalid Data Type!

It seems to be a problem loading the status integers S:39, S:40 etc (the month, day, hour, and minute) in to my stack.

This works fine on the SLC 503... why not on the uLogix 1500?

Thanks!
 
The reason your getting the error is because the register for clock are not S:XX but RTC as shown on figure.

rtcml1500.JPG



hope this will help

bill
 
Unfortunately, I'm still getting this now:
Invalid Data Type...

my command is

FFL RTC:0.YR #N255:0 R96:1 20 0 NXB
FFL RTC:0.MON #N254:0 R96:2 20 0 NXB
FFL RTC:0.DAY #N253:0 R96:4 20 0 NXB
FFL RTC:0.HR #N252:0 R96:5 20 0 NXB
FFL RTC:0.MIN #N251:0 R96:6 20 0

RSLogix 500 even says that RTC:0.YR, RTC:0.MON etc, are all integer files.. why the problem with using FFL on them to put the values in to a stack?
 
What is strange, is if I MOV the values for RTC:0.YR, RTC:0.MON, RTC:0.DAY etc in to an integer file first, such as N97:10, N97:11, N97:12 etc and THEN use those integer files to insert in to the stack, it works fine.

Is this just a goof up by RSLogix??? it's the same data type
 
tomfarvour said:
Is this just a goof up by RSLogix??? it's the same data type

Yes, and no.

The ML1200 and 1500 processors have 32 bit CPUs in them - I suspect that the RTC file really uses 32 bits words. There are other subtle differences as well, eg, having to use the CPW instruction instead of COP instruction, or not being able to use a floationg point destination for a math operation that involves a long (which is a screw up because they took out the DDV), etc.
 

Similar Topics

From a previous thread someone suggested I use a Micrologix 1500 LRP for recipe control as this has 48K bytes. I am giving this method a little...
Replies
10
Views
8,194
Hi, I have a ML1500 awa base plc that i'm wiring to a punch press. The press has notched steel wheel and an ac inductive proximity sensor for...
Replies
8
Views
3,351
We are looking to upgrade our industrial waste water treatment plant. It has a couple of SLC5/03 (don't want to replace just yet) and an iFix PC...
Replies
0
Views
1,902
OK, I've finally done someting I can't (at least not yet) seem to fix. I was changing the comm settings while I was online with a Micrologix 1500...
Replies
4
Views
7,197
I have a US Filter water softener i just got hooked up and plumbed into our brewery, and i need to check the program on it / download a new one...
Replies
16
Views
9,703
Back
Top Bottom