Using ADD function

viopo

Hi All,

I am new to PLC and this forum as well.

I was trying to programme an ADD function in PLC 5 of AB. The source 1 is set as N7:0 and source 2 as N7:10 and the Destination is pointed to N7:12. There are values at N7:0 and N7:10. But when the rung is true, I am not getting the result in N7:12. What could be the problem?
Any help?

Thanks,

Viopo

Several Culprits

1) Is the rung in a program file other than LAD 2, and is there a JSR to the program file? (i.e., is the rung actually being scanned by the PLC?)

2) Is N7:12 being used elsewhere in the program? Don't just rely on a search - do a cross-refernce as well. It may be that you have a File instruction (COP, FLL, etc) that includes N7:12, but doesn't reference it directly. A cross-ref will show that. But it won't show indirect addressing, so watch for that as well.

3) Could the values in N7:0 and N7:10 be different from what you think they are supposed to be immediately prior to the rung being scanned? N7:0 could be '11' for the entire scan, but in the rung before the ADD, if something should change it to '47', and back to '11' after the ADD, '47' will be the value used, even though while you are online monitoring it, it will appear to be '11' all the time. You might want to monitor the registers with a histogram.

Thanks for your quick reply.

1. It is in LAD 3, being scanned and executed by PLC. In this simple rung there is a XIC (a hardwired switch) which energises the rung. During running mode the energised condition with XIC is shown but now result available at destination.

2. No other programme using the integer table. LAD 3 contains only one rung and LAD 2 contains binary table and direct descrete i/o operations.

3. I dont find any chance for over-writing the result with another value immediately after the ADD operation, since the integer table operation is done only by this ADD function.

Please provide possible help. I shall send you the program if required

Thanks,