EtherNet/IP Explicit Message Server Help

PLC Newbie84

Hi everyone, I am completely new to the world of PLCs and I would appreciate any advice someone out there may have for me. I've been tasked with writing a server application (running on a Windows XP PC) that needs to support explicit EIP/CIP messaging from an Allen-Bradley PLC (ControlLogix 5562 with a 1756-ENBT/A EtherNet module). Unfortunately I'm restricted to using C#. Does anyone know of any good 3rd party libraries available that will work with .NET/C# for windows? I would also appreciate any other additional information you may have to offer.

Thanks and best regards,
Greg

I have seen a few vendors with cheap .NET libraries for Logix PLCs (and other families). Your other approach would be to get an OPC server and find a sample OPC app. If you join the OPC foundation they have sample code, and other vendors supply it for free. I'll dig up those URLs for you if you're interested.

edit - Totally missed Marks post. I've seen other companies, but that was one of the better ones when I was looking.
product LINK

PLC Newbie84 said:
Hi everyone, I am completely new to the world of PLCs and I would appreciate any advice someone out there may have for me. I've been tasked with writing a server application (running on a Windows XP PC) that needs to support explicit EIP/CIP messaging from an Allen-Bradley PLC (ControlLogix 5562 with a 1756-ENBT/A EtherNet module). Unfortunately I'm restricted to using C#. Does anyone know of any good 3rd party libraries available that will work with .NET/C# for windows? I would also appreciate any other additional information you may have to offer.

Thanks and best regards,
Greg

Last edited: