Writing to Proface HMI

jcallis2669

Good day to all.
I'm a novice at best with plc programming and use mainly as a troubleshooting tool. Recently it was delegated to me to add a sensor to our app to detect if the correct part was being used. A pokeyoke. My counterpart and I have been doing ok with the programming and implementation of the pokeyoke.
Now I need to add the new prox to the display on the HMI to show which sensor is not being made for the operators to correct. I have been RTM and would like some help understanding what is and isn't possible to do.
The hardware is Mitsubishi plc A2USH cpu s-1 and the HMI is Proface GP2301H-SC41-24v. Some questions:

1) Is it possible that the HMI is reading the complete ladder in the plc and I only need to address the new bit in the screen format?

2) How can I add this new what amounts to a circle to the picture already in use when I don't think I have a copy to work with.

I'm sure that I havn't asked all I need to but if I could just get pointed in the right direction I could move forward.

Thanks for any replies.
Craig

First off youll need Pro-Designer software and a copy of the original application if you want to modify anything.

The file format for Xycom is a .pdz

Once you have that youll need to find the correct address in the PLC for the item you want to point at, build the correct variable in Pro-Designer and add it on a screen somewhere.
Then youll need a Xycom Tool cable to download to the Xycom as a 2301T HMI doesnt have an ethernet port and you cant download through the com port.

Hi you probably need Proface 'GP Pro' software (this is the UK name for it) and a programming lead to do this. If you are lucky you will be able to upload the screen program to your laptop and then perform the changes needed.