New in PLC-5, Old in S7 PLC

neziu

Hi to All AB users,

Sorry I can't collaborate my question very clearly because I am not familiar with this Allen Bradley (AB) PLC, Its my first time.

My Company that I work have 3 units of AB PLC which came from its Old plant somewhere else. I try to learn programming from this controller so I download AB software from this site and fabricate a cable, to be able the PC communicate to the PLC.

When I try to write a program to the PLC using the Siemens FieldPG (PC) Communication port 1 connected to Allen Bradley PLC-5/40E (PLC) Channel port 0 by the serial cable that I fabricate. (pinout is based on the AB manual). Error was detected, I cannot go on-line and I also try it on the other one unit, the result is the same.

After a very frustrating days of trial and error I try the last one. At last the connection was stablish. Wooha! what a relief.

I have a http://**********/images/smiles/icon_question.gif , why is the last one unit go on-line the other two cannot? the only thing different between them is the revision, they are all PLC-5/40E, but the last one is rev. E01. the other is C01 and D.

I also have another question: How to communicate Allen Bradley PLC-5/40E to Siemens S7-400 CPU 414-2DP?. Exchanging data, software, hardware configuration, etc.. Is it possible? I use Ethernet protocol Siemens ELS TP40 (link: http://www.automation.siemens.com/net/html_76/produkte/040_els.htm).

Again many thanks,
neziu
[font=Modern No. 20]"Do What Is Right! and Help Others To Do So,[/font]​
[font=Modern No. 20]Don't Do What Is Wrong, and Don't Tolerate Those Who Do." [/font]​

Hi,

You miss out to mention what software you use to connect to PLC5. What is the cable pinout, etc.

There are 2 softwares I know can communicate to it.

1. The DOS version of 6200 series software
2. RSLogix 5