PDA

View Full Version : RSLinx on VMWare


surferb
October 14th, 2007, 08:11 AM
I've been told by a customer that RSLinx doesn't work on VMWare but KepServer EX does. Any ideas if it's a configuration problem like which OS gets control of resources. I'd be surprised if it couldn't be made to work. I'd be even more surprised if Rockwell officially supports virtualization. Unfortunately, I don't have a suitable test setup available to give it a try :-(

Ken Roach
October 14th, 2007, 10:11 AM
All of Rockwell's software specialists use RSLinx Classic on VMWare every day, and several major Rockwell Software customers rely on VMWare for their servers and clients on large distributed HMI systems that use RSLinx Enterprise.

Of course there are things that don't work well: VMWare is hard to configure to pass USB or PCMCIA connectivity, for example.

Ordinary Ethernet and RS232 connections are no more difficult for RSLinx than any other program using a hardware virtualizer.

surferb
October 14th, 2007, 05:04 PM
Thanks!

I'm familiar with configuring which OS gets USB control - that's what I referred to as "resources" earlier. I hadn't considered PCMCIA.

So I can tell my customers that RSLinx Classic should work easily out of the box, or be made to work without too much headache, with RS232 or Ethernet on VMWare?

All of Rockwell's software specialists use RSLinx Classic on VMWare every day, and several major Rockwell Software customers rely on VMWare for their servers and clients on large distributed HMI systems that use RSLinx Enterprise.

Of course there are things that don't work well: VMWare is hard to configure to pass USB or PCMCIA connectivity, for example.

Ordinary Ethernet and RS232 connections are no more difficult for RSLinx than any other program using a hardware virtualizer.

Operaghost
October 14th, 2007, 06:37 PM
I use VMWare Workstation extensively. In fact, I am typing this message from a virtual machine. I rarely ever use the Host O/S to do anything but run my vms. From my experience with RSLinx Classic and RSLinx Enterprise:


Ethernet is a no-brainer. It's no different than non-VM.


RS232 - see ethernet


USB - I have to admit I have never used RSLinx with anything USB. But I have never had any USB device NOT work. Remember this is just me, someone else may tell you differently. VMWare version 6 added USB 2.0 support which I am VERY grateful for!
PCMCIA is not supported at all by VMWare. This is not an RSLinx or AB issue. This is VMWare intentionally declining to support ANY PCMCIA device.
OG

surferb
October 16th, 2007, 06:05 AM
Thanks all - my answer is now crystal clear with confidence!

ghettofreeryder
October 16th, 2007, 01:33 PM
All of Rockwell's software specialists use RSLinx Classic on VMWare every day, and several major Rockwell Software customers rely on VMWare for their servers and clients on large distributed HMI systems that use RSLinx Enterprise.

Of course there are things that don't work well: VMWare is hard to configure to pass USB or PCMCIA connectivity, for example.

Ordinary Ethernet and RS232 connections are no more difficult for RSLinx than any other program using a hardware virtualizer.

Rockwell has software specialists??? HAHAHAHAHAHA. too bad there tech support is retarded

CroCop
October 16th, 2007, 01:42 PM
Rockwell has software specialists??? HAHAHAHAHAHA. too bad there tech support is retarded

That's plain ignorant to say.
I've been rather impressed with the tech support I've gotten from Rockwell.

Ken Roach
October 16th, 2007, 02:14 PM
If you are going to insult a group of people in public, please understand that you are addressing at least one of them directly and be prepared for the possibility that he might take offense.

Your own intelligence may be evaluated by your use of English grammar, spelling, and punctuation.

End of thread, guys. Let's not feed the troll.

surferb
October 16th, 2007, 05:34 PM
Yeah - be nice! Every company has higher level and lower level support. I've gotten through to the actual Rockwell developers before (I think), and they were very knowledgable. They knew exactly what my issue was - had known about it already, and had scheduled a fix in the next patch. That was several years ago. I've been told by several integrators that their support quality has been increasing since then.


Ken - please don't take offense. You know that you're quite welcome here. But please don't end my thread also. I got a great answer to my question and the additional information has been invaluable.

If you are going to insult a group of people in public, please understand that you are addressing at least one of them directly and be prepared for the possibility that he might take offense.

Your own intelligence may be evaluated by your use of English grammar, spelling, and punctuation.

End of thread, guys. Let's not feed the troll.

TWControls
October 16th, 2007, 05:36 PM
End of thread, guys. Let's not feed the troll.

Normally I would have a hard time holding back, but I will have to agree with Ken this time. Ignore the ignorant troll

escott
October 20th, 2010, 04:34 PM
I see from your thread this should work for me except:

When I do a auto browse I only see a EIP Driver that I have on my host machine and not the ENBT module I have on my network.

From My host machine I can see the ENBT module.

( I can also ping it from the Vmware session)

any thouhgts on what I may need to change in my network settings on either the host or the xp guest vmware machine

Thanks,
Eric.

Money4Nothing
January 25th, 2012, 12:24 PM
I have a Windows 2007 Host and a Win XP guest. I'm trying to connect to my Ethernet IP network through RSLinx, but I can't see anything. I configured my host's LAN, the NAT virtual adapter, and my guest's LAN all to the same 192.168.0 subnet, but I'm not getting any communication.

I'm trying to connect to a 1756-E2N which is addressed to the same subnet.

Is there a different way I should configure this?

Using VMWare Workstation 7.1 and RSLinx 2.58

Thanks,
$

jac
January 25th, 2012, 01:04 PM
I always Bridge the adapter so the VM gets its own address. That being said I see no reason for NAT not to work.
Can you ping the 1756-E2N from a cmd prompt?

Money4Nothing
January 25th, 2012, 01:16 PM
I always Bridge the adapter so the VM gets its own address. That being said I see no reason for NAT not to work.
Can you ping the 1756-E2N from a cmd prompt?

Thanks for the tip. I bridged the adapter, and was able to specify the IP address, and it worked.

It turns out that my NAT adapter was being used by my wireless connection, and I didn't notice. But now its working thanks to bridging.

Cheers,

$

brendan.buchan
April 10th, 2012, 07:24 PM
Can you guys give an example of how bridging will work?

I've just got a new laptop with a Win7 64bit host and I'm running all my programming software in Windows XP with VMware workstation.

I was having issues connecting directly to a Panelview Plus last week.

Panelview address is 192.168.5.207

I set my host IP to 192.168.5.248

If I use bridged mode, should I set my VM to "Obtain IP Automatically" or should I give it another static IP, ie. 192.168.5.249?

It worked when I used NAT mode with VM set to obtain IP automatically (it got an address of 192.168.62.xx but was still able to ping the Panelview) but it wasn't able to browse in RSLinx. Could only ping devices directly.

Any ideas on the best setup to use?

The Plc Kid
April 10th, 2012, 08:36 PM
All my rockwell stuff is in a vm only. I use the 1784-U2DHP daily and have no issues with usb.

On ethernet I do use bridging as I have seen NAT act stupid a few times.

BTW I am speaking from a vmware 7.x prospective if you mean vm ware desktop. V8 sux so far.

ghettofreeryder
April 10th, 2012, 11:13 PM
If you are using Ethernet/IP and a NAT adapter, you need to set-up the driver to browse a remote subnet. If that does not work, try using a bridged connection with a local subnet. Finally, try a Ethernet Devices driver, (Not Ethernet/IP) and statically set the IP address of the intended target.