Serial Port Weird Problem

ArikBY

Hello every boddy.

I got new laptop Dell D630.
I bought it as spare PC for my D820.
The D820 work prefect.
With the D630 I found new problem and I wonder if any one else face it.
When I try to connect AD Plcs thru Com 1.Its not work.A same cabel with adaptor USB to RS232 work good.
Omron and AB (PIC&DF1)and Siemens(PPI) work fine.with com 1.
Did someone face somthing like that.

TIA

Arik

Last edited:
ArikBY said:
Hello every boddy.

I got new laptop Dell D630.
I bought it as spare PC for my D820.
The D820 work prefect.
With the D630 I found new problem and I wonder if any one else face it.
When I try to connect AD Plcs thru Com 1.Its not work.A same cabel with adaptor USB to RS232 work good.
Omron and AB (PIC&DF1)and Siemens(PPI) work fine.with com 1.
Did someone face somthing like that.

TIA

Arik

If a PIC is involved make sure the driver has not taken exclusive rights.

RSLinx does not but certain drivers may

I am no expert here but I specifically had issues with RS LInx open while trying to comm to AD PLC and only with this brand combination. Just a suggestion though.

There is another thread about this, the worst AB driver is PIC on XP, it requires (but do not) you to exclusively hold the port. If you configure the drivers in RSLinx to run manual atartupit will not matter if the server loads on startup.

Did your HP finally die, Arik? I finally gave up on HP. My original NC8000 lasted me 2 years, then wouldn't boot anymore. I bought another used (1 year old) NC8000 off eBay, and that lasted only a year. Same non-booting issues. While shopping for a replacement, I used HPs 'online chat' to ask which models still have onboard serial ports. The rep said that NONE of their current models have a real serial port... (n)