wincc counter question

akwrc

hi all
I am new to wincc and to plcs generally...
I have created a counter in my step7 project where it increases its value +1 when an input is 1. I have an object in runtime from wincc library where it shows numbers, but i did not succeeded to make it show the value of my counter. Does anybody has any idea...?
thanks

P.S Jesper i really tried, but there is no time for further search.

Could you show us your PLC code and tell us what object you used?

A few possible hints, your timer values should be passed to WinCC tags via a DB block, this is not the only way of doing it but I would reccomend this.
The values you can pass are either the preset counter value, or the actual count value. Both of these are in the form of a 16 bit word. The highest 4 bits are not used and the lowest 12 bits form 3 BCD numbers giving you a range from 0 to 999.
When you set the tags up in WinCC, you should be able to pick a BCD format. I will check this a bit later today when I am at the programming terminal.
Also, start with a simple number display field and check to see if the values are passing. If not, you can go to the tag list while WinCC is running, move the mouse over the correct tag, and see what the current live value is. This will allow you to see if the tag is reading and writing.

Hope this helps,

Doug

Edited because I miss read counter as timer.

Last edited:
Doug thank you for your answer

i am beginner to plcs ,i am a university student and what i do is a simple project.
I have inserted a digital output object from wincc library.
i have tested my counter in my step7 project with success.
what i tried to do in wincc is changing the output value from object properties( not from events) Is there any code tha shows my counter value easily??? the tag i created is a text tag 8-bit character.

OK, still need more information.

Which counter are you using?