Citect S7 communication

pacak

Hi guys,

I'm new to Citect and have to setup a Scada system to monitorize a plant.
What we have now is 4 separate MPI networks with CPU315-2DP-s and different OPs on them. I have to get data from these networks to Citect but don't know what kind of communication should I use. (Also, in the future we want to monitorize plant energy consumption etc.)
I've found on the internet Ethernet gateways to MPI, which means that on the Citect side I could use a switch and a single card in the PC instead of 4 CP5611s (actualy I think that you can use max. 2 in a PC).
The problem is that I do not want to buy such gateways until I know that they will work with Citect.
Does anyone uses something like this with Citect? What brand? What kind of driver do I need for this?
Any other idea how to set up communication?

Thanks!

Hello

This is Srikanth from India. Put them on Ethernet using network switch & configure IP for each node then connect to Citect using Modbus ( Ethernet).
In communication Interface option in Citect define all these IP addresses.

regards
Srikanth.

You should be able to use just one CP5611 and communicate Profibus to your four S7-315-2DP PLC's.I have many times used a CP5613 to communicate Profibus to several S7-400 2DP PLC's. I run Citect SCADA and use the S7NT driver.

Hi Srikanth and John,

Sorry, I was not very clear before.
We have four MPI networks, one with 4 CPUs, one with 5, third with 5 and the last has only one. If I put all of them on ethernet, that means 15 pieces of CP343 and I do not have so much money. That's why I thought about 4 or 3 MPI/Ethernet gateways.
What do you think?

I would also consider the ethernet option.
Either a CP343-1 LEAN in each S7-300 station, or one of the 3rd party Ethernet/MPI adapters.

Putting 4 CP5611 in one PC wont work. The CP5611 is a softnet card, and that means amongst other things that only 1 card can be used in 1 PC.