Conveyor Winch Control

2engswt1

Hi there

I have been programming PLCs for the past 3 years. I am busy with software for a automatic tensioning system on a conveyor using a winch with disc brakes.

I should tension to 40kN before startup and slackand control on 28kN after run up complete. I have written it as follows.

I reckoned I need a bandwidth otherwise it is very difficult. Before startup if tension to low program tension until in middle of bandwidth 38 - 42 kN. At 40 kN I stop the winch and activate the brake. Now I monitor to be within band. Six times it starts up perfectly and the next time I am just outside of my bandwidth.

Has this anything to do with the speed of the winch, PLC scan speed, brake reaction time? Is there maybe someone who has an idea to do this in a better way. I have stopped the winch on different tensions within the band, but seem to find a difference in control when belt is full and empty.

Regards

2engswt1

2engswt1

I have a couple of questions for you:-

1) What are you using to control the winch motor, are you using a VFD or is the PLC switching a contactor in to start the motor direct?

2) Are you keeping the power applied to the motor until the brakes are set? Have you some sort of feedback as to the brake position i.e microswitches?

3) How are yoo 'measuring' the tension, what form of feedback are you using?

4) What PLC are you using?

5) Can you post some more information on exactly how you would like it to work?

We might be able to help you out on this, but, I am pretty sure that you can rule out PLC scan time as the problem, it likely points to the brakes, hence question 2.

Paul

It is hard to try to give alot of help without more info (PLC code, Input and output types, other component types, etc) but we will give it a try anyhow.

Assumptions:
1) You are using an analog input to measure your tension feedback.
2) You are using two digital outputs to turn on your winch - one for forward and one for reverse.