Is Mitsubishi way different from AB and Siemens?

XIO

Hi people,

Just wondering if the Mitsubishi software and programming (GX Developer)is a lot different from those in AB and Siemens.
I am concerned because I am a newly grad engineer. At my job we only use Mitsubishi PLC and drives. I have noticed that a lot of other jobs require mainly AB or Siemens. I was wondering if once I get familiar with Mitsubishi, will it be an easy transition to learn AB and Siemens or are these completely different?. Mitsubishi does not seem to be used a lot in the USA or at least I have not seen any job postings that will specify Mitsubishi as their prefered control system.

I can't speak for Siemens, but Mitsubishi is considerably different from A-B. Mitsubishi programming seems (to me at least) to be less abstract or less of a high-level language. I think that if you were to learn Mitsubishi, the transition to A-B would be easier than the other way around. For me, having a combined experience with A-B and low-level computer programming (Assembly, C, C++) allowed me to pick it up fairly quickly.

As a side note, quite a few PLC brands are similar to Mitsubishi in the way that you have to understand the bitwise operations and data types to really understand the instructions and their variations. Toyopuc, Omron, Mitsubishi are the main ones that come to mind.

Hi! First off, congratulations! With discipline and applying your skillset you'll find that Education will pay you back tenfold.

I've worked with AB plcs for over 7 years. There's a good deal of difference between the AB/Siemens/and Mitsubishi. From what I've seen of the Mitsubishi series they're simpler than the others. Though I'm biased towards AB because that's where I cut my teeth.
Lots of Japanese companies use Mitsubishi plcs, so they wouldn't be a bad thing to pick up. :)

good luck!!