PLC programming beginner

javmen99

I'm new to the PLC world. I have a Automation direct system with a DL205 base and 250-1 CPU. I've read through the tutorial (PLC.net) and the programming software handbook so I have a basic understanding of how the PLC should be programmed and ran. My output unit is the D2-04TRS that's supposed to be powering a electric valve (120 v, 15 watts) I ran my simple program and the output unit just made a buzzing sound and the valve didn't open up. It appears that the control unit was working, but the valve didn't respond. Can anyone help me with writing a simple program to get started or any advice where I can get help? I've attached the program and pseudo code that I will eventually write the entire program.

Thx
Dave

For those of you without DirectSOFT, here's Dave's "program"...

X0
|----] [-------------------------( Y0 )
|
|--------------------------------( END )

Yes, that's the whole thing!... :D

I think you can safely rule out any problem with the program. I thought perhaps you had a timer set too short or something, but that's DEFINITLY not the case here. Input ON = Output ON

Re-check all your wiring, there's something fishy. One possibility... Are you using the on-board DC power supply to turn on the valve? You can use the on-board supply for your inputs, but don't use it to drive loads (outputs). You may be overloading it.

Remember, it's only a 300ma supply!... (n)

beerchug

-Eric

I just noticed your "pseudo code" document.... Here it is for easier viewing:

Start Program

Initial heat up
 Turn on y00
 Turn on y02
 Turn on y20
 Turn on y22
 If x0 = 170o F (from thermocouple input) go to next step
 Turn off y22
 Turn off y02
Step two
 Turn on y03
 Turn on y10
 Turn on y00
 Turn on y20
 Start timer
 When Timer reaches 3 minutes go to next step
Step Three
 Turn off y20
 Turn off y22
 Turn off y00
 Turn off y03
 Turn off y10
 Reset timer to zero
 When timer reaches 15 minutes go to next step
Step Four