How to use encoders / high speed counters

tomfarvour

Hi guys, I'm new to encoders and high speed counters. We are going to be using a Avtron Model HS25A Encoder. It has 100 PPR instead of 1024 PPR that we were using before.

Basically this Encoder is going in to all of our sites for our drives and motors. We have some sites that are going to use a MicroLogix 1500 and some sites that use a ControlLogix 5555.

We already have the controllogix site configured using the 1024 PPR encoder. Is there anything special that needs to be done to change the distance that would get counted because we are moving to a 100PPR instead of 1024PPR? If so where is this changed? or is it simply a logical change. Currently our machine uses "42000 steps per foot" so I'm guessing that's where I'd need to change?

Next, we've never used an encoder with a MicroLogix 1500. Is it simply buying a 1769-HSC module? Then how is it configured.

Thanks much!
-Tom

Since you asked

ftp://ftp.deltamotion.com/public/PDF/Mathcad%20-%20t1p1%20pid%20mrplc.pdf

I did this simulation a while back for the same question on a different forum. Ignore the numbers and look at the graphs. The first graph is showing how well one can control a motor with 40000 ( 10000 PPR ) counts per revolution and the second with 300 counts ( 75 PPR ). Both are controlling exactly the same system with the same gains and making the same motion. The only difference is the encoder resolution and the difference in response because of the different resolutions. Encoder resolution is very important to good control. These numbers are a lot more extreme that yours but you can see that using the same gains the 40000 counts/rev will control MUCH better and 300 counts or even 400 counts per rev ( 100 PPR ) is not enough.