Programmers

You can make that...

IF you have the years of experience and reputation and
IF you are a one-man shop and can wangle contracts on your own.

My company is charging me out for $60 on our current contract. Other companies in the area are charging callout rates of up to $125. Even with that, the tech is either making a fraction of that rate, or is on salary.

I have 20+ years experience, and the reputation. I don't have contracts lined up at the door to keep me in meat and taters for years to come, thus I am working for someone who can keep a trickle of work coming my way, and I don't have to worry about insurance, taxes, and business expenses, mostly. That's the situation I suspect most of us are in.

The highest paying PLC jobs right now are contracting overseas, if you can get one of those, and if it's your thing. A PLC programmer who gets paid $65 an hour won't be home every night, either. Probably not many nights.

Oh, and the $65-125 they brag about is definitely not in the ballpark for just out of PLC school!

Last edited:
That is a "Consultant" rate, ie what an outside contractor would quote for your (you the programmer) services.

If hired by an engineering firm for a salaried position, depending on qualifications, low would be 50K, high would be 85K.....

If George Brown college is leading prospective students to believe that plc programmers typically earn that much, then they are being very misleading. Like the other people said here, a firm might charge such rates from $65 to $110 an hour, but the programmer may well be getting well less than half of that money in his pocket.

ascot01 said:
George Brown College claims that full-time PLC programmers make between $65 and $110 per hour.

http://www.plctechnician.com/careers.html

Can someone tell me if this is true or not please, and if so is it based on 40 hours per week?