Communicating between a SLC 5/04 and a PV+ 600

Yokes9

I am trying to communicate my SLC 5/04 PLC with a Panelview plus 600 touchscreen. I have created the programs for both devices but cannot get the two devices to communicate. It has to be a serial connection to the PLC. I've gone into the PV+ and set up the Serial port in RSLinks Enterprise Communications. I am thinking it could be the Tag names. Someone also mentioned setting up a KEPserver on the PV+.

Also I am a student so resources are limited. Thanks for any advise on the matter.

You need to make sure you're using the proper cable for one thing. It's either a C10 or C11 cable.

I wonder if your just using a straight ethernet cable.

eForce said:
You need to make sure you're using the proper cable for one thing. It's either a C10 or C11 cable.

I wonder if your just using a straight ethernet cable.

Bad Info, the C10 and C11 are for the SLC5/01,02,03 controllers with a RJ45 DH485 port. The OP's SLC5/04 does have have that. It has a DH+ and a RS232 port. Th OP needs to post the exact cat. no. of his PV for more complete help.

Last edited:
Wiring first

This is pretty straightforward. Let's begin with the physical link.

PanelView Plus terminals have an RS232 serial port with a "DCE" pinout (Pin 2 Rx, Pin 3 Tx). SLC-5/04 controllers have "DTE" type serial ports (Pin 2 Tx, Pin 3 Rx).

To communicate between the two you need a straight-through RS232 serial cable with female plugs on both ends.

Because your PC has a DTE type serial port, to connect it to the SLC-5/04 serial port you need a "null modem" type cable. The most popular of these is the Allen-Bradley part number 1747-CP3.

You can add a "null modem adapter" to a 1747-CP3 and use it to connect between a PanelView Plus and SLC, or you can just get a straight-through RS232 cable from any vendor.