Barcode scanner question

pc_geek

Hi all,
Today at work I was approched with the question "how difficult would it be to scan barcodes into existing plc system"? And of course I didn't have an answer because it's something I've never done before.

The current system uses 2 Sick clv-450 scanners which scan and send the data to a horner barcode system which sends the data to a pc which sends the data along with the weight from a weightronix scale (which is also attached to the pc)up to an oracle server which marries the weight and the barcode together then sends the "data received" signal back down to the pc which at that point the pc sends the print command to a paragon label printer which prints and applies the barcode label with the weight. The conveyor system that the skids travel on is controlled by 2 allen-bradley 5/05 processors which message skid locations to each other over ethernet.
(Sorry to seem so long drawn out on the explanation).

As you see from my explanation of the barcode system there is alot of equipment for a couple of tasks.
I never triggered scanners or aquired barcodes with a plc. What logic would I use to trigger the scanners through the serial port of the plc and how would this be stored.
Thank you in advance for assistance

I've always used Sick scanners, these usually have a controller into which a digital signal from its own PEC triggers it to read and also they have their own encoder to time the read result.

The PLC also has an encoder to track the product and reads the same PEC that triggers the scan read, then expects the read result when the object read has moved into a position where the scanner sends the result.

EDIT, the result would be sent either by serial comms or Profibus. There's usually a heartbeat as well.

I have never used a bar code scanner directly with a PLC either but I have done a lot of work with barcode scanners and Lab View and I would imagine it would be similar.