Ultrasound sensor to PLC

mepone

Hi, I'm new to all this PLC stuff and would be grateful of a little help. I'm trying to connect a 4-20mA Ultrasound level sensor to a PLC and then have it switch a horn at one level and then switch a contactor at another higher level. I'm not too sure if this is possible and also if it is possible how would you program the two different levels.
Any help would be welcomed

Mepone,

If would want to receive answers, it's best that you tell everything we need to know. First of all what kind of PLC are you using? Is this PLC alraedy equipted with an analog input card? Has your sensor a passive or an active output?
The only answer I can give you for the moment is, yes it is possible to program this. It's even very simple.

Best Regards

Yes, and it depends

What you are trying to do is very common and easy. You need a PLC with an analog input built in, or as an add-on card, and relay outputs.

In the program, you would look at the value from the analog sensor The 4-20mA would be turned into some sort of integer in a corresponding range, say 0 - 2048, where 0 = 0mA and 2048 = 20mA.

You would then use "greater-than", "less-than" and equals compare commands to set your outputs, based on the calculated value of the integer (0-2048) where it would be at the mA value you want, using this formula :

2048 * (x/20ma) = y

So, if you want the alarm to go on at 10mA

2048 * (10mA/20mA) = y

2048 * (0.5) = y

2048 * 0.5 = 1024

Then, in your ladder, something like "If Register X > 1024 then Output 1 ON"

The value of 2048 that I picked is "out of the blue". The actual maximum value will vary with the card you choose.

More specific detailed questions bring more detailed answers.

Good Luck!

TM