RSLogix5000 Help

DaveMac

Does anyone know of a company that offers "review" or "help" for RSLogix5000?

I am a 500 programmer for a pet food company in South Carolina and have to now do my first 5000 project. I am fighting my way through it but would feel better and be quicker if there was a resource in South Carolina or at least the East Coast that could take a look at my program and tell me what is good and what is bad.

Any suggestions

That could be a tall order unless you are looking to pay someone. I know of a few automation shops down there that would probably review your application, but it wouldn't be very cheap.

RSLogix 5000 programming, if using straight ladder, is very very similar to SLC500, About the biggest change (and it shouldn't be if you program the SLC's with symbols) is assigning the I/O's.

Suggestion: Before you start, in the 'Controller Tags' editor (after you insert your I/O in the hardware list), assign an 'alias' for each I/O point. Then just use the alias in programming contacts and such.

There are no 'Data Files' per se, but if you try to use an 'internal bit' or 'internal word', even timers and counters, just give them a unique name as you program them. The rungs will not verify, but you can right click on the new name you entered, and select 'Add New' from the popup menu.

I almost hate to ask, but is this pet food company by any chance in Orangeburg?

Hi. If you or your company can afford it, its advisable to go to a Rockwell training course for the 5000. Even though it looks a lot like an SLC there are a lot of differences behind the scenes. I dont mean a course that explains how to place an input on a rung of code. What you need is someone to explain the way the data tables get structured, periodic tasks and there priorities, scoping of tags and aliases, multidimension arrys and when to use them and the 100s of other little features that take a long time to find and utilise if you just sit in front of one and start working.