EZ touch?

steviek

Hi All,

I'm very new to automation. My only previous experience has been with Mitsubishi Alpha PLC's, which are rather limited and are programmed in boolean.

I've recently been tasked with automating a custom production tool here at work. Since we're a start up company, I've settled on EZ touch from EZ Automation because of the price, and because of their claims of ease of programming.

I've read some threads on this site about EZ Touch PLC's and panels. They claim that there is no need for training with their software, but since I have little experience with ladder logic, I'm concerned about whether that claim really applies to the novice.

Does anyone know of a source for programming instructions specific to the EZ or EZ touch PLC's and touch panels other than what's available from the mfg (which isn't much)?

Also, I downloaded the demo programming software from this website and have read some of the tutorial material available here as well. Is the book offered more comprehensive then what's already available on this site?

Thanks for your help!
Steve

They are very easy to use, we have used them with their EZ-PLC, AB, AD and omron. Very nice people too, if you are ever in the area you should stop by the plant and see them. There are also some significant discounts available to integrators who use a lot of thier products.

I've used the EZ-Touch HMI and liked it. I've recently been using hte C-More, and personally I like the programming, trending, and tag editing better. Prices are similar.

I tried the EZ-Touch/PLC and was not impressed. The terminal blocks on the I/O were too small, and although the logic editing was fine downloading and configuring were a little clumsy.

We're using the C-More as well. Very nice panels, easy to use, good features -- such as the ability to send e-mails from the panel.