speed measurment

khalil

hi ,

can any one tell how to measure speed by using a rotary encoder(incremental) , i have a S7 200 PLC, i have no idea how to do that,
any help will be great .

thanks in advance.

khalil i khalil . 🔨

In general, there are two methods. The first is to keep track of counts over a fixed period of time (counts per timebase). The second is to keep track of the elapsed time to accumulate a fixed number of counts (time per count).

Most PLC high speed counters include speed measurement capability.

how can i do that ?

hi steve ,

thank's for the reply,how can i do that let say i have 10 ppr encoder
and i wana measure the velocity of a motor,do you mean that i should count pulses in a specified amount of time (on delay timer?) or what
please steve this is my first time doing something like that,so ,more details will be appriciated,thank you again .

🍺

best regards.
khalil i khalil .

1'st get some timer for time interval:
UN M 0.0
SE T0
KT 10.1
U T0
= M 0.0
NW3***
UN M 0.0
SPB=over
L Z0 : counted pulses
T MW1 : For display impulses/sec or what ever
R Z0 : Counter
over:***

2'nd Count up pulses to Z0 from one channel of inc.encoder if you can be sure that direction is ok. You can do everything from NW3 to Z0 counter inputs also.

Last edited:
OK Khalil, let's use your example of 10 PPR on a motor turning at 1200 RPM. That's 20 revolutions per second, 200 pulses per second.

Using the first method (pulses per timebase) set up a one-shot that gets triggered every 100 milliseconds. You also need a counter to accumulate the pulses. Each time the one-shot gets triggered, transfer the accumulated count to a work register. This value has units of counts per 100 milliseconds. Multiply it by 600 (100 milliseconds per minute) and divide by 10 (counts per revolution) to obtain RPM. For example if you accumulate 20 counts in 100 milliseconds your speed is (20 * 600)/10 = 1200 RPM.