RSLinx and Excel

plcengineer

I have a system that has RSLinx on it running RSView ME. My customer wants a DDE Link from excel to RSLinx to gather data. Has anyone done this and will it cause issues between RSView ME and RSLinx.. Any suggestions would be helpful

Thanks

plcengineer said:
I have a system that has RSLinx on it running RSView ME. My customer wants a DDE Link from excel to RSLinx to gather data. Has anyone done this and will it cause issues between RSView ME and RSLinx.. Any suggestions would be helpful

Thanks
Rsview Me works together with Rslinx enterprise, Rslinx enterprise is different from Rslinx classic this one is an OPC server but Rslinx enterprise is not. So if you need to gather info from your plcs into excel you've got to use rslinx classic.
I've been using this option for several years with success with a package called XLreporter from www.sytech.com
My 2 cents.

Last edited:
Do a search - this exact topic comes up at least monthly.

It shouldn't cause issues with ME. RSLinx (assuming "Classic" not "Enterprise") is an OPC server. This acts as another connection.

DDE calls through Excel can be a useful tool for a technical user. It absolutely sucks as a permanent means of "gathering data".

It's a better idea to use a database as opposed to a spreadsheet for what you're looking for. Excel is a very useful tool to analyze data from that database, but not gathering it - or storing much for that matter.

The next thing is that DDE links in Excel are pretty tacky. You find yourself: putting spreadsheets in the "startup" folder, writing weird macros, and depending on a hoaky setup that wasn't designed for it. As an integrator, I received many a random call because that scheme "was broken" (often mysteriously just requiring a reboot). It's much nicer when your datalogging application is a program that runs as a service that doesn't require user interaction.