Simple Ladder Logic????

I am an apprentice so i think i can get away with what seems like a stupid question.

im writing a program in RSlogix500. basically i cant work out how to put together a rung or collection of rungs that do the following. my knowledge of RS logix is good, but this has eluded me.

I want to press a button(button 1) once to run a conveyor. then at any point from then on i want to be able to use button 1 again to turn that conveyor off again. the conveyor is just a OTE on one rung. anything i try either wont turn it off or wont start it at all. am i being stupid??

Cheers for you help

Greetings bmw_apprentice ...

no - it's not a "stupid" question - and it's been covered many times on the forum ...

try doing a search for "flip-flop" ...

instructors have been assigning this same exercise for years ... the main thing is not just to "GET-IT-TO-WORK" but to understand HOW and WHY it works ...

you can learn quite a bit about how the PLC processor executes its ladder logic program if you dig deep enough into this ...

going deeper ... let’s take your statement:

the conveyor is just a OTE on one rung

actually that’s not correct ... the CONVEYOR is a device in the field ... there is a BIT (in other words, a BOX) inside the PLC processor that is associated with the CONVEYOR ... that bit/box can contain either a ONE or a ZERO ... at the END of each pass through the ladder logic, the processor SENDS the status of that bit/box out to the CONVEYOR (the field device) ... if the bit/box contains a ONE, then the CONVEYOR should turn ON ... if the bit/box contains a ZERO, then the CONVEYOR should turn OFF ...