Panelview 1000 communications

flashthomas

I am having trouble getting a panelview 1000 to communicate with a slc 5/05 processor. All is on a ethernet network. Both units are
plugged into the nework, I can see them with rslinks ok. My problem may be with the network, but before I go and talk to the
IT guys I wanted to make sure I had everything set up ok in panelbuilder and the slc 5/05 ok. panelview is set a 10.26.32.33
and I tring to talk to slc 5/05 at 10.26.32.28 I am new at setting
up ethernet so any help would be great!
thanks!

You don't need to talk to the IT guys if you can browse both PV and PLC.
Your problem is the PLC or the PV program is not running/or does not have a valid tag address pointer....
You need to have a program in the PLC that works, AND you need to have a VALID program in the HMI that WORKS with the PLC.
The tags need to be addressed properly.

ok, under the communication tab I have put in node name, node address, and node type. noded name is totesorter, node address is the slc 5/05 ip address and node type is slc 5/05 right? Now I have two buttons programmed using b60:0/0 and b62:0/0 one for write tag and one for the indicator tag. These buttons are addressed to the node name "totesorter" The plc has the b files in the data table. Is there any other programming in the PLC that needs to be done? with ethernet I did not think any MSG or anything needed to be added in the plc?

Best way to get help with this is to post you SLC file ( .RSS)
and your PV file (.PVA) zip them and post here.

If the PanelView terminal cannot connect to the SLC-5/05 over Ethernet, or cannot read the addresses you have configured, it will show a characteristic error code on the PanelView display, like "Error 634".

Does something like that show up on your PanelView screen ?

634 Message is a CONTROLNET error.
You said that you are using Ethernet?
What is your PV Part No?

ControlNet Terminal Messages​

See Terminal Codes for messages below​

Error Number Terminal​