Siemens STEP-7_confused

Step7_aby

Hi Guys,

I am new to Step-7 Programming i don't know where to start and all. I am very much confused with OB's, FB,s and FC,s that we have here, i have to do the STL programming please help me out with this!!!!!!!!!!

Why do we have these many OB's and FB,s there Significance, how to define the inputs and outputs for the FB,s and FC,s

What experience do you have with other PLC's?

What literature do you have on Step 7?

Why do you HAVE to program in STL? Ladder would be better to learn and get used to the PLC, STL is only necessary for certain things, most things can be accomplished with ladder.

OB = Organisation Block, these are for specific things, you don't need to use them all.

OB1 is the only necessary one, as this is the base distribution block, this block is run after the inputs are updated and before the outputs are updated. All FB and FC paths originate from here.

OB100 to OB102 = start up blocks, depending on the type of start one of these will run, once only, on start up. Good for presetting things in the program. These like all OB's (except OB1) are not compulsary to program.

FB's (Function Blocks) and FC's (Functions) are where the main code will reside, these enable the code to be compartmented into smaller parts, each should be specific for a small section of the total code.

Try reading some of these manuals

Last edited:
I do have experience in Triconex TMR PLC, ABB AC-450 controllers and many others apart from Siemens systems and i am working on them for the first time, i know some basics of siemens product but i am not proficient with them.
I have to code in STL as it is the requirement,thanks for the info about OB1, could you expain me how FB and FC works i mean the concept for the same and also i would like to know when to use "interface" with IN,OUT, IN-OUT,TEMP,STAT.

i am sending you one small code could you expain me step by step working

L #START_ADDR
T #SRCADDR
L 0
ADD: L W#16#1002
T LW 0