s7 software

adx

Hi everybody.I am new to s7 programs.could anybody let me know what is the advantage of using FUNCTION instead of FUNCTION BLOCKS in the s7 SIMATIC MANAGER. Thanks.

Functons are used where you don't need memory attached, all data needed to complete the logic is passed as IN or IN_OUT parameters and the result is passed as a OUT or IN_OUT.

Good practice would dictate that you do not attempt to set parameters sent in as IN parameters and you don't user the OUT parameters as conditions until after you have conditioned them in the block.

Function Blocks are as they call them, blocks with memory, that is when called from the code, you must assign an Instance Data Block, where all IN, OUT, IN_OUT and STAT parameters are saved and can be used external to the FB if required.

I have seen code where they have created an FB as a distribution block, where there was no input or output parameters and no STAT's created. When the block was called they had to create an Instance DB, the only time I have seen empty DB's. That was a definate case where the block should have been a Function.

adx said:
Hi everybody.I am new to s7 programs.could anybody let me know what is the advantage of using FUNCTION instead of FUNCTION BLOCKS in the s7 SIMATIC MANAGER. Thanks.
Like Peter says, the fundamental difference between the two is the fact that an FB has associated memory whereas an FC does not have associated memory. For example, if you ran a totalizer that said
NewCount := OldCount+Delta;
you can use an FC provided OldCount and NewCount are IN / OUT parameters and are connected to DB or to Global variables. But if you have these as internal TEMP variables, you are doomed when you call the FC a 2nd time. The 2nd instance of the FC will reuse the OldCount value from the 1st instance of the FC (of the same program cycle) and there's going to be havoc with the various instances interfering with each other.